Winners of the 2016 Mirror Awards

Home > Press Box > Winners of the 2016 Mirror Awards
The winners of the 2016 Mirror Awards! The awards gala last Saturday night was a successful and sold out event. This year's event paid homage to Daniel Benoit, who became the first inductee to the Canadian Hairdresser Magazine Hall of Fame. Benoit is a three-time winner of the Canadian Hairdresser of the Year.  Norm Wright and Frank Cini of Taz Hair Co. and Biodegradable Beauty received the Community Heroes Award, in recognition of their work to support the community and work in charitable events, as mentors of young talent and environmentally conscious entrepreneurs. Finalists, Sponsors and guests cheered on the winners and the amazing artistic presentations by Collega Aveda, American Crew, Wella & Sebastian, Sassoon and Pascal & Jeremie's fashion. After the gala, winners and guests continued the celebration at an animated after party at Muzik Night Club. Thank you to all the sponsors for your support and to all the contestants for your artistry.  

The winners of the 2016 Mirror Awards are:

1. Canadian Hairdresser of the Year: Julie Vriesinga, Entrenous

2. International Hairstylist of the Year: Allen Ruiz, Ruiz Salon

3. Colourist of the Year: Michelle Oliver, Kick Hair & Body

4. Editorial Stylist of the Year: Silas Tsang, Blushes

5. Makeup Artist of the Year: Florencia Taylor, Florencia Taylor Makeup

6. Contemporary Classic Style: Dorothy Tsang, Blushes

7. Avant Garde: Stephane Scotto Di Cesare, Freelance

8. Men's Cut & Style: Dorothy Tsang, Blushes

9. Multicultural Stylist: Alain Pereque, Salon Saco

10. Newcomer of the Year: Étienne Cloutier, Coiffure Cut In

11. Salon & Spa Design of the Year: Dean Delmonte, Dean Delmonte and Company

12. Nail Artist of the Year: Valerie Ducharme, Valerie Ducharme Nail Artist

13. Atlantic Salon Stylist: Melissa Duguay, Eccentric Hair Studio

14. Alberta Salon Stylist: Michelle Oliver, Kick Hair & Body

15. Saskatchewan Salon Stylist: Melissa Weir, Ethos Salon Spa

16. British Columbia Salon Stylist: Curtis Hunter, Moods Hair Salon

17. Manitoba Salon Stylist: Reyn Von Dyck, Elan Hair Studio

18. Ontario Salon Stylist: Stephanie Schewe: Salon Collage

19. Quebec Salon Stylist: Alain Pereque, Salon Saco

20. Best Video: Rocky Vitelli, Locale J

21. Best Selfie: Ricki Boudreau, Uptown Hair Studio

22. Community Heroes: Norm Wright & Frank Cini, Taz Hair Co.

23. Canadian Hairdresser Magazine Hall of Fame first inductee: Daniel Benoit

Thank you again to all the winners, finalists and entrants for your artistry and for making the #MirrorAwards 2016 a wonderful event!
Check out the 2016 Mirror Awards Digital Program at

Signup to our Newsletter